How not to sell on twitter.

Since I began my adventures in social media I can’t tell you how many times I have been disappointed by the hard sell.

I don’t know why I expected to find the cyber world free of shysters. How very naive, the salesman is everywhere !  But I couldn’t resist the idea of a new media full of people helping each other. I  love a utopia.

Don’t get me wrong, there are lots of people out there who see Twitter as a genuine way to share information. They will go out of their way to help people, recommend you and pass on interesting links, some even do it for entirely altruistic reasons. And then there are the ones who SPAM you constantly and send out the same Twitter advert every half an hour until you vote with you feet and get rid of them.

De-friending is the new door in the face. And I am very happy to do it.

But hey, we are all here to promote something, to say otherwise would be dishonest. We want to build a following and share our ideas and expertise. In many cases that will be part of a strategy to sell a product or service in the long run. That’s ok, but in a blog or Tweitter message it has to be done at arms length. Therein lies the skill.

Next time I want to tell you about a class I do which is a fab idea and brilliant fun, but is in danger of being ruined, ( for me at least) by the over-sell.

Lucy

 

 

Leave a Reply

