How I found inspiration in Alan Bennett and a bruised bum.

A few days ago I went sledding with my family.

We don’t get much snow usually but this was perfect. The sun was shining and there was a blueish sheen over everything.

The kids asked me if I was going to have a go and I paused for a moment. Do I want to be the kind of mum who never joins in, or do I want to be someone who is always up for it and willing to have a go ?

It was great fun while it lasted. But I ended up in hospital with seven stitches to a rather inconveniently placed gash. The lump of rock definitely came off best.

Yes I am in agony and yes I am cheesed off that I am not at my best for Christmas but do you know what ? I don’t regret it.

You’ve got to be in it, you’ve got to take part. I am not prepared to let my life pass me by. That’s why I write my blog and get involved in twitter and immerse myself in the life that I want to live.

I saw a programme on TV with the fantastic writer Alan Bennett last night in which he said you have to turn off the voice inside your head that says ‘you ? you can’t do that.’

So I will write and I will share it  and I may well fall on my butt again. But so what ?Happy Christmas!

2 responses to “How I found inspiration in Alan Bennett and a bruised bum.

  1. Oh no Lucy thank you for your comments and I hope you have a swift recovery! Merry Christmas and Happy New Year! Melanie

  2. I too, debated whether to go sledging a week ago! I grew up in Africa so had never been before but was nice and warm in my cosy house with Twitter and Facebook to keep me company. I posted my doubts and was bombarded by friends telling me to go so I did. Although I felt like a twit being the only adult female whizzing down the slope and despite ending up in a hedge, I laughed so much and felt so alive that I won’t hesitate again!

Leave a Reply

