Accentuate the Positive

I have a friend who is brilliant at everything. He is a fantastic sportsman, a keen intellect and master of puzzles, brain teasers and quizzes.

Well, he is always telling me he is and everyone seems to believe him.

The thing about my friend is that he made a conscious decision, way back down the line, to base his humour and interactions with others on how brilliant he is. The alternative was to amuse people by being crap and for him that was no alterative at all.

But it is amazing how often we are prepared to do ourselves down – it is almost part of the British character.

I recall a hideous conversation with a boss at the BBC some years ago in which I was so nervous I ended up suggesting that my knowledge of World Affairs wasn’t all it should be. Hardly surprising then that my appraisal shortly afterwards made exactly this point! The truth was, my knowledge of World News was perfectly adequate but I had blundered into self-deprecation.

He took what I said about myself to be the truth and later it was quoted back at me.

So imagine if we only ever said positive things about ourselves? There’s a good chance people would believe us. My friend who only every talks himself up may be big-headed but he also creates an image of intelligence, cleverness and success. 

This can obviously work for business too and social media is a great way to accentuate the positive.  So long as you can point to concrete examples of things you have done to make the world a better place or examples of great customer service, then you can only win.

Leave a Reply

