Why social media is inspiring me again!

The year is hurtling by and social media continues to tumble down the hill, getting bigger and bigger like a snowball as it goes.

Some of us went through a period of social media fatigue as the shiny new toys lost their lustre, for others it was the constant changes that put them off, together with being told that everything you knew was now rubbish.

But hey ho! We’ve rolled with it and happily enough I find myself once again in a state of excitement and optimism. Why? 

As my work takes me from one sector to another I’m constantly impressed by how adaptable social media can be to the needs of very different industries.

I am currently looking at the way social media communities can be used in the world of recruitment.

Some time ago I spoke to 6th form students about how to use social media to get ahead in their chosen career. I suggested that not only should they get onto LinkedIn and participate in groups there but that they should follow people on Twitter too – listening to the people you admire and tapping into their thought leadership can be very powerful.

Now I see that this has all been taken one step further with communities like Brave New Talent which have been set up to bring together large companies with potential recruits. Instead of advertising a job and getting a flood of applications which are then wasted when the appointment is made – this encourages HR departments to stay in touch with the people who have shown an interest in them, so that they can share job news and crucially, information about what they’re looking for in a future successful candidate.

Hopefully what you get, is long-term relationships between candidates, companies and their recruiters which builds on talent instead of wasting it.  After all, how many times have you heard people moaning that young people simply don’t know what companies expect of them anymore? This is an ideal chance to stop the moaning and do something.

Brave New Talent have got an impressive rosta of companies involved including L’Oreal, Starbucks, Tesco and IBM. I really like their blog   too.

So take heart from the brilliant new innovations that continue to flow from the social media spring.

What has impressed you lately?

2 responses to “Why social media is inspiring me again!

  1. Lucy
    Great blog.
    Social media in recruitment is an ever evolving world, I was with Lucian from Brave New Talent at an event in September. He has an impressive vision for his business and on a global scale.
    My personal view is that niche is good and the also the future in recruitment. It makes sense to me as people like feeling part of a community. I think that building communities which are meaningful, relevant and highly interactive is the way forward.
    Having said that, I’m sure that there is a place for us all…..

  2. Wow Lucy thank you so much for the mention! I was really pleased you commented the other day on the blog. Watch this space too – we are working on some new features which I hope will impress you just as much again.

    Warm regards
    Charlie
    Community manager for BraveNewTalent

Leave a Reply

